Main Content

Kraft Nabisco Championship 2013

The Kraft Nabisco Championship has been designated one of the LPGA Tour’s majors since 1983. The tournament has actually been played, however, since 1972 when it was born as the Colgate Dinah Shore.

From 1982 through 1999, the name of this tournament was the Nabisco Dinah Shore, then until 2001 the Nabisco Championship. The tournament was founded  by entertainer Dinah Shore, a strong supporter of women’s golf and the LPGA.

The Mission Hills Country Club has hosted the tournament for 42 years and in 1983 it became a major. Played  at the Mission Hills Country Club Dinah Shore Tournament Course with a yardage of 6738, a par of 72 and some of the most cleverly designed holes to be found on any of the more than 100 courses in the valley.  It is the premier event of the year for women golfers.

Kraft Nabisco Championship 2013

With a purse of $2,000,000 it is easy to see why the top women golfers in the nation head to Rancho Mirage in April. Last year’s winner, Sun Young Yoo gave spectators a dramatic finish to beat out I.K. Kim in an unlikely last minute victory.

With an entire week of great golf competition, gala parties, and celebrity watching excitement, this is the place to be the first week of April. Tickets for this year’s week-long event may be purchased online.


Filed under: Community Information · Tagged with